Home-Run Style T20 Action in USA

An unofficial Cricket series has been held once in the USA when the All Stars T20 series between Sachin’s Blasters and Warne’s Warriors was organized, which the latter won 3-0.

But this time, the first ever official bilateral T20I series is being held in the US. Two solid T20I teams – the world champions West Indies and the No.2 ranked T20 team India – will meet for the first time after the WT20 2016 semi-final match which West Indies won.

It’s a short turnaround time for the Indian team to switch from the Test format to T20 Internationals with just 2 players (who did not play in the test side) joining the squad. Apart from Dhoni, Jasprit Bumrah is the only other player to join the Indian T20 squad, while the rest of the 12 members are the ones who played in the four-Test match series. The new coach Anil Kumble will also be tested for the first time in the shorter format. On the other hand, West Indies have a strong squad with players who came up with good performances during the recently-concluded Caribbean Premier League.


This T20I series at the Central Broward Regional Park in Lauderhill, Florida, which is the only ICC-approved venue in US, ushers a new beginning for cricket in America. With a fair number of Asian Indians and people of Caribbean ethnicity present there we can expect a big crowd turnout. This series is also going to be the first of what will develop into an annual event in the USA as part of efforts to reach out to new markets and audiences.

All cricket fans will be quite excited to watch Virat or Gayle hitting some “home run” style sixes. This cool T20 India jersey will be back and WhatteShot is waiting for watching some fabulous shots going out of the park!


Here are the 2 squads :-

India: (from) Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Stuart Binny, Umesh Yadav

West Indies: (from) Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine.


No one can forget the brilliant innings by Lendl Simmons which took the game away from us in the WT20 semi-final match. Cricket fans want a revenge of the same backing Team India as always!

1st T20 starts at 6:30 PM today, LIVE on Star Sports 1, 3, HD1, HD3 and Hotstar.




2 Comments Add yours

  1. Seems absurd that cricket hasn’t taken a grip in USA. England is having difficulties regarding potentially restructuring domestic cricket but USA is effectively a blank canvas. You could at the least have some sort of T20 city based franchise competition with some big names and maybe a regional First Class structure.


  2. Hopefully rain won’t ruin the show


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s